Drink up, me hearties, yo ho! Product Spotlight 1

So it’s always been a wonder to me…
Why do bento bloggers rarely share their drink experiences?  The emphasis is on the food, of course.  But there are lots of cute things you can do with drinks.  Refreshment of the liquid variety is sorely underestimated when discussing bento, and I can’t find a reason.  You need water, even more than you need food!  Just a brief mentioning would be nice.  It’s just nice to know what people drink…even if it’s just a soda from the machine across the hall.

I have a few drink containers–most of which aren’t portable.  Even my large “mug” with the lid on it can leak, and is only good if you’re planning on holding it upright somehow at all times.  I used to have a canteen–it was big, it was dark, and it kept drinks at a good temperature, depending on the type.  It was also plastic, a concern that wasn’t really stated at the time that the purchase was made.  I had heard that you shouldn’t reuse plastic water bottles, but canteens still seemed pretty okay.  I used mine a lot.  But, after a while, two disasters:
1. I accidentally left it full of tea in my locker for…longer than I’d like to admit.  It never made anything smell, and it never leaked, but when I opened it up finally, it made me gag.  I tried everything, but that smell wouldn’t come out.  This meant no more water.  From then on, I had to use stronger drinks in the canteen, to mask the stench.
2. I lost it.  Simple as that.  That was a couple of years ago.

Recently, my mother was given a new bottle as a gift.  It’s from the SIGG company, a fairly well-known maker of Swiss canteens.  I’d heard some good things, and was a little wary of buying another plastic canteen, no matter the quality.  Sure, you can fight the system, claim that the hype about plastic and foods is a bunch of jive, but…what if they are right?
And anyway, I thought they were really nice looking.

So, I bought one.  They come in many many designs, and a few different sizes.  They even have thermal bottles.  They’re leak free, as long as you don’t freeze them–that cracks them.  And I know, this one isn’t too “kawaii” or anything, but they do have a Hello Kitty one (and a Spongebob one, which is smaller than mine, and I think I might get that one next).


There it is!  Pretty snazzy, no? 

This isn’t a plug–I’m definitely not sponsored by anyone (as much as I’d enjoy the benefits).  Just thought I’d share.  This is a bento/food blog, after all, and are drinks not considered food?  Why must they be exiled? 

My model (whom I have named The Bishop) is called “Swiss Quality”.  If you want your own, you can visit   http://www.mysigg.com

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

